SoOh Spotlight: Barbara from The Rhubarb Studio

I stumbled upon The Rhubarb Studio when looking for vintage sellers on etsy. Barbara’s wonderful finds attracted me but her beautifully arranged photos drew me in and I ended up looking at every single item in her shop. The Rhubarb Studio is so incredibly curated I ended up adding the shop to my Google reader so I could not only see her new finds but also see what beautiful arrangements she has created. Barbara is a treasure hunter extraordinaire, an awesome still life photographer and she’s from my hometown; Dayton, Ohio.

Tell me a little about your shop and what you sell

I have a shop on Etsy by the name of The Rhubarb Studio. I sell vintage and repurposed items for the home, to use or even to give as gifts.

What is your process in choosing items for your shop?

For the most part, a very important criteria that the items have to meet is the functionality factor. Can the items be used for more then one thing/function. At the same time, they need to be aesthetically pleasing. Example, a vintage aluminum colander can be used as a fruit basket or plant container.

How much of what you sell is influenced by the Southern Ohio area?

I really enjoy the architectural history of many of the historical neighborhoods in the Dayton area, as well as Columbus and Cincinnati. Example, when I am shelling an antique/vintage mirror, I keep in mind that this would look gorgeous in an entry or foyer or over a fireplace mantel. When I create in the studio I am very mindful of where an item might be placed.

What part of Southern Ohio do you live in and how long have you been here?

I live in the Upper Dayton View Historical District. I have lived in Ohio for about 22 years now, but my husband and I moved to UDV 4 years ago and are restoring a 1925 Colonial Revival home.

What are your top 3 favorite places to eat in Southern Ohio?

Meadowlark Restaurant, Dayton, there garlic frites and roasted beets, as much as they are starters, I could make a meal out of this combo easily.

The Pine Club, Dayton, the quintessential steak house, the filet literally melts in your mouth.

Buckyeye Jake’s, West Alexandria, I ran across it when some family was in town this summer. The sweet potato fries are to die for, but the killer is breakfast, the chili omelette; eggs, chili, cheese and hash browns, what more is there?

What are your top 3 favorite go to events in Southern Ohio?

Riverscape Ice Rink in the winter, I was raised in Alaska and Europe and ice skating is a “must” every winter.

The Semi Annual Dayton Metro Library Book Sale, which happens to start Sept 16-18, 2011, go to http://www.daytonmetrolibrary.org for more info. I love this sale as I am a book freak. It also takes place in April as well.

Dayton Art Institute Oktoberfest happens to be September 24-25, 2011. Great to listen to the bands, hang with friends and enjoy some beer and brats.

What are your top 3 favorite places to thrift in Southern Ohio?

I shop at all the thrift/second hand shops in Dayton, except for one (of which I won’t name) but I also do a lot of “scavenging” in Columbus, I am up there every other week or so. But there is a really fabulous place that I stumbled upon, again when I was in West Alexandria and it is called Treasures, they have a Facebook page as well. Great place, a little on the pricey side, though, but there are some awesome finds. If you are up to a little country drive, I think you would enjoy it.

Anything else you would like to share about yourself, your shop or Southern Ohio?

I also write a blog, www.therhubarbstudio.blogspot.com, when I have the time, stop by when you get a chance. I also would like to thank all of my customers, past and future, for their kind words for the products that I find and produce. Also, kudos to Bethany for this blog on Southern Ohio, this is a really great resource to advertise and promote our little corner of Ohio and for having me be featured as well, I truly appreciate the opportunity.

Thank-you, Barbara. I really appreciate you sharing your work and your experiences in this corner of Ohio. You recommended so many events that are coming up and I can’t wait to check them out! I’ve learned so much more about the area thanks to Barbara and other local artists. I hope my readers have learned more too and go visit all these neat locations in Southern Ohio!

One response to “SoOh Spotlight: Barbara from The Rhubarb Studio

Leave a comment